Victim Services Unit

Posted in: Victim Services Unit
Feb 21, 2013 - 11:12:42 AM

The Investigations Captain  oversees the Victim Services Unit which consists of two Crime Victim Advocates who primarily work with domestic violence, sexual assaults and child abuse, however they can work with anyone who is a victim of a crime.

For victim assistance contact our Victim Services Unit located in the Detective Division, of our contact page. 

Our Victim Services Unit can provided information and referrals:
  • Crime Victims Compensation

  •  Support Group

  • Emergnecy Shelter for victims of Domestic Violence and/or Sexual Assault

  • Legal Aid Referral

  • Personal safety, housing, counseling and medical treatment

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence is a crime - If you are the victim of domestic violence, you can ask the City or County Prosecuting Attorney to file a criminal complaint. 

  • Approximately 95% of adult victims are women.

  • Domestic violence homes are at 1500 times greater risk of child abuse.

  • Battering often occurs during pregnancy and does not stop without intervention.


Protection Orders

Domestic violence can be physical, psychological, sexual or all three. If your spouse, former spouse, you have a child in common, or if you are a minor or adult in a dating relationships, you may be eligible for a Protection Order. 

Idaho passed a law in 1988 that can help you get protection from further abuse. This is the Domestic Violence Crime Prevention act ( Idaho Code 39-6302). You can get a Protection Order if there has been physical abuse, sexual abuse, forced imprisonment or threat thereof. 

The Protection Order may be obtained without a lawyer and without cost. The forms are available from the Clerk of the District Court, from our Victim Services Unit, or available on-line at www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov.

A Protection Order may:

  • Stop the person from hurting you and/or your children.

  • Direct the person abusing you to leave your household.

  • Stop the person from entering your home, school or place of work.

The judge may issue you a temporary Protection Order and will set a hearing date within 14 days to decide whether to issue a full 90 day "Protection Order".  

Violation of a protection order is serious! A violation of any provision of a protection order is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $5000.00. 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you wish to contact the Victim Services Unit please visit our contact page or call us at (208)773-1080. More about the Victim Services Unit program is available by viewing our brochure

 This Victim Services Unit brochure is a pdf file and must be viewed by using Adobe Acrobat Reader. You may download Acrobat Reader for free by clicking on the icon.